Trailer and ground Possible?

Got questions, comments and/or feedback regarding Craft Director Studio? Post them here.
Post Reply
eddyvh
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:50 pm

Trailer and ground Possible?

Post by eddyvh » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:04 pm

im new with the craft tools. ive setted up a fully working truck with a trailer. (not the template)
all works fine without ground. but i need to have a ground in and there it starts with things are going crazy.
For the truck all works fine. but the gravitynode of the trailer seems to be parented under the trailer and so of i parent or link
a ground it drives with the trailer.

is that as it should be? think not.. can someone help me?

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Trailer and ground Possible?

Post by Micael Belin » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:08 pm

Hi Eddyvh, welcome to the forum!

May you be parenting the ground and gravitymesh the wrong way? It is true the trailer's gravitydirectionmesh is parented as a child of the trailer chassis by default. Simply re-parent the trailer's gravitydirectionmesh to the ground instead. And to clarify: It's the gravitymesh that should be a child to the ground, not the opposite way around. The 4-Wheeler works both ways, but the trailer's gravitymesh must be a child to the ground, not the parent.

Does this help?
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

eddyvh
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:50 pm

Re: Trailer and ground Possible?

Post by eddyvh » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:57 pm

yes thanks.. but if i tried that the scene was all time crashing.. now i rebuild the scene and it works.. but it is sadly very slow.
why i cant select the fast raycast for trailers also?

but very thanks for the gravity mesh solution :)

Patrik Martin
Partner
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Trailer and ground Possible?

Post by Patrik Martin » Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:02 am

eddyvh wrote:yes thanks.. but if i tried that the scene was all time crashing.. now i rebuild the scene and it works.. but it is sadly very slow.
why i cant select the fast raycast for trailers also?

but very thanks for the gravity mesh solution :)
What system are you running? Cinema 4D?
Partner
http://www.craftanimations.com
patrik.martin-at-craftanimations.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RogerBoodS and 5 guests