Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post your Craft Director Studio-created works or work-in-progress here.
Post Reply
firetaw
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:59 pm

Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post by firetaw » Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:39 pm

from what i understand from mr proxy, they reduce the amount of memory by referencing the object outside of the max file. so would it be posible to link an mr proxy instead of a mesh on craft. from what i saw was possible to render using mr proxy, i could use our high poly models and put them to use.

can anyone elaborate on this speculation?

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post by Micael Belin » Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:43 pm

Hello Firetaw,

I have not tested mr Proxy myself, but i see no reason why it shouldn't work. As long as the Craft dummy objects (the low-poly models) are original models, any high-poly models can be represented as proxies.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

firetaw
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post by firetaw » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:54 pm

Thank you for the reply.
We were having memory issues in the pass, hence why was looking at the mr proxy. From what i saw that can be done with Mr Proxy and how much memory is saved. This will probably be pushing us to developed high poly version of our tanks and vehicles and move on from using game models.
This will definitely help us in future projects.

This is an explanation of how proxy works. When you load max it loads all of the geometry into memory. At render time mental ray reloads all of the geometry into a separate cache of memory. At this point you use double the amount of memory needed. When you convert to a Mr Proxy the data is saved to a .mi file and is then referenced into 3ds max. Since you can set the amount of vertexes shown when you have a Mr Proxy. Allot of memory and performance is saved.

This is why Mr Proxy is as interesting for our team as we already have a high poly leopard C2 tank ready to be tested in max with craft. When my soldier animation is completed, I will be testing Mr Proxy and will let you guys know how it went. Maybe ill have clearance to upload it to youtube later on.

firetaw
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post by firetaw » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:27 pm

ive rendered this animation in 3 hours with the daylight system and mr proxy. and basicly attached it to one of my craft crawler test i have done before with the leopard C2. the Leopard C2 has around 200 000 polygones in total. there was no performance issues at all.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHwzw6SDK1w

Carl Buhre
Quality Assurance Manager
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Using mr Proxy on Craft

Post by Carl Buhre » Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:43 am

firetaw wrote:ive rendered this animation in 3 hours with the daylight system and mr proxy. and basicly attached it to one of my craft crawler test i have done before with the leopard C2. the Leopard C2 has around 200 000 polygones in total. there was no performance issues at all.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHwzw6SDK1w
Looks great! Glad to hear that it worked together with Mr. Proxy. Thank you for showing us the work!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests