ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Got questions, comments and/or feedback regarding Craft Director Studio? Post them here.
Post Reply
jonahcandy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:36 am

ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by jonahcandy » Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:58 am

Hi,

i play hc with my ps3 controller and it works just fine, only i would like to move my player with the analog stick instead of the arrowkeys? Is this possible? Because i cant change it in the input settings....

thanks!








------------------------------------
Image
Last edited by jonahcandy on Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by Micael Belin » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:00 am

Hi,

Try use the autodetect feature and move the analog stick. Does it register the movement?
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

qianan
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:18 am

Re: ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by qianan » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:46 am

Hey guys, i can get craft to work with my keyboard, and the only controller i have right now is a ps3 controller... I did some research and i downloaded the trail version of Game Pad Companion for Mac. I can get the controller to work with GPC as a mouse....But when I go into craft and open the input window how do i set up the ps3 controller?



-------------------------------------------------
hack xbox 360PS Jailbreakwifirobin

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by Micael Belin » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:19 pm

Hi Qianan,

Does the controller show up in the device combo box? Open the input settings on a tool and open the device combo box on any of the inputs.
We depend on the SDL library for input devices on Mac, so the PS3-controller needs to be compatible with it. I am unsure if this is the case but i'm quite positive it should work.

If you do find the PS3 controller in the device combo, all you need to do is to assign the controls you wish to use on each input, then save it as a profile and start making animation.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

matt43452
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:36 pm

Re: ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by matt43452 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:25 pm

I had a similar problem. The controller was recognized in the list of controllers, but the "detect" feature would not pick up on any input from the controller.

I struggled with this for hours until I found and installed a driver called Motionjoy. Now it works. This is just an FYI for anyone who has issues. I'm on Max 2012 running 64 bit Windows 7.

Janacek
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: ps3 controller use analog stick to move?

Post by Janacek » Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:35 pm

Micael Belin wrote:Hi Qianan,

Does the controller show up in the device combo box? Open the input settings on a tool and open the device combo box on any of the inputs.
We depend on the SDL library for input devices on Mac, so the PS3-controller needs to be compatible with it. I am unsure if this is the case but i'm quite positive it should work.
dstt card buy m3ps3 remote

If you do find the PS3 controller in the device combo, all you need to do is to assign the controls you wish to use on each input, then save it as a profile and start making animation.
I had a similar problem. The controller was recognized in the list of controllers, but the "detect" feature would not pick up on any input from the controller.

I struggled with this for hours until I found and installed a driver called Motionjoy. Now it works. This is just an FYI for anyone who has issues. I'm on Max 2012 running 64 bit Windows 7.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests