Maya 2011 Mac

Got questions, comments and/or feedback regarding Craft Director Studio? Post them here.
evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:20 pm

Hey,
Do I have to run my Maya 2011 in 32 bits mode to make the Craft Director's studio trial work? I try to activate it in 64 bits native mode and it tells me it's the wrong architecture. If this is the case, will there be a 64 bits version in the future?

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Tue May 04, 2010 10:30 am

Just an update here, I tried running it in 32 bit mode and it still doesn't work. I got a different error though this time.... Does anyone have it working on a Mac in 2011?

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Tue May 04, 2010 10:39 am

Hi,

Quite correct, we currently have support for 32-bit mac only. We are working on a 64-bit solution, but i cannot tell whenever it may appear. Sorry for the inconveneience, but we work as hard as we can on the problem.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Tue May 04, 2010 10:41 am

The 32-bit version should work however. What kind of error message do you get?
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Tue May 04, 2010 10:42 am

Thanks Michael, no worries, I'll use my trial in 32 bit mode then :)

I can't remember the error message, I will have to check it when I get home to verify what the error was. It was during the plugin load and it ended up not loading the plugin at all.

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Wed May 05, 2010 1:20 pm

Alright, here's the error I'm getting:

// Error: Cannot find procedure "CraftDirectorTools_CreateUI_MAC". //

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Wed May 12, 2010 1:05 pm

Right, i tried this on two machines with 2011 and one machine with 2008 (all macs obviously) and they get the same error. // Error: Cannot find procedure "CraftDirectorTools_CreateUI_MAC". //

Has anyone had this version actually working on a Mac?

RaeTracer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:20 pm

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by RaeTracer » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:27 pm

Hi, I'm having the same problem... I'm running maya 2011 on my Mac in 32-bit mode, but I can't even load the plugin (v. 10.1.2) without getting the error:

// Error: Unable to dynamically load : /Users/Shared/Autodesk/maya/2011/plug-ins/CraftMayaAdaptor2011.bundle
does not match the current architecture //
// Error: does not match the current architecture //
// Error: does not match the current architecture (CraftMayaAdaptor2011) //

When I load the new plugin version on 2009, I get an error, but it does work afterwards:
// Error: line 1: Cannot find procedure "CraftDirectorTools_CreateUI_MAC". //

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:28 pm

I will look at this and see what i can find out.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

joolifinaa
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:49 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by joolifinaa » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:26 am

I have run my Maya 2011 in 32 bits mode.I have no problem at all.It run perfectly.I think you have to plug -in again.
I hope your problem solve.The error not display.

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:22 pm

We are working on a 64-bit support for maya on Mac. I don't have a release date of yet, but it will be available shortly.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:34 am

Alright, I finally got this working on Maya 2008 for Mac by opening CraftDirectorTools_CreateUI.mel from the PC-version of the plugin. I then just ran CraftDirectorTools_CreateUI; from my MEL input and it finally loaded and works quite well. It's quite apparently just a simple script error somewhere that's causing this problem :)

Thanks for releasing 4Wheeler for free, it's really great and fun! Looking forward to trying it.

Makes me want the pro version, but I wish the price point for individual modules were more affordable than your 4WheelerExtended is today. At $300-400 I could get approval for buying it from my higher-ups, but $850 is very steep for our use. I totally understand that price point for people who do car visualizations / movie work though. This is a very impressive plugin. Just my two cents here.

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:41 am

Since CDS is a modular system, you gain the real benefits of CDS first when you start combining the different tools with each other. Therefore we encourage our customers to aim for the different suites available for CDS instead of single products. As a result, the price of single products are rather high in comparison. I know it brings a dilema for small companies and freelancers. But it can always be solved somehow, and if you are considering purchasing the 4-Wheeler Extended, please send a formal request to info@craftanimations.com, and we'll see what we can do for you.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:43 am

ah, i totally misunderstood your issue before! Yes, we do have problems with the shelf script on Mac. We have a solution for it and it will be released with the next release of CDS. In the meantime, you can start Director Studio manually by using the MEL command: "CraftShowUICmd".
The error you get is an error when trying to create a shelf shortcut to CDS. The rest of the software is working fine.

Sorry i didn't realize this until now.
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:03 pm

That's great news, Michael, thanks!
I'll be using that command now, the shelf was created in my Maya using the PC script.

Great to hear that there are solutions for smaller companies, I will get in touch later on when a purchase becomes feasible for a project.
Thank you.

leila34
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:08 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by leila34 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:16 am

Micael Belin wrote:We are working on a 64-bit support for maya on Mac. I don't have a release date of yet, but it will be available shortly.
This is great! I'm excited to hear about the release of 64-bit support for maya on Mac.



:)

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:24 pm

I've just finished the release candidate of 10.1.4. It won't be available on the website for a few days, but i have uploaded them our our public ftp for you to download.

server: gbg.craftanimations.com
user: public
pass: craft
folder: prelease-builds/10.1.4/

Enjoy!
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:43 pm

excellent, i'll give this a try. is this the 64 bit version?

User avatar
Micael Belin
CTO
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:39 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by Micael Belin » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:11 pm

Yes, There is now support for Maya x64 on mac!
micael.fredriksson@craftanimations.com
http://www.craftanimations.com

evilmonkey
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:31 am

Re: Maya 2011 Mac

Post by evilmonkey » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:22 pm

great news! well done! looking forward to trying this :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests